Key takeaways
- A two-stand, one-crossbar kit that holds a backdrop up to 10 ft wide and 7 ft high. Height adjusts continuously from 2.85 ft; width is set in steps by using one to four crossbar sections.
- Linco does not publish a load rating on its own page for this kit. The stands in its sister kit (4171) are rated at 10 lb each, and a reseller listing for this kit gives 10 lb. Either way, this is a stand for fabric, paper-weight vinyl and light décor, not heavy banners or dense balloon walls.
- Unlike Linco’s cheaper 4171 kit, this one includes two sandbags and six spring clips instead of four.
- 7 ft is the ceiling. Anything longer — an 8 ft drop, say — will pool on the floor.
- Linco does not publish the tripod leg spread, tube diameter or a warranty term for this kit.
This is Linco’s adjustable backdrop kit sold on Amazon as the “Backdrop Stand for Parties Kit 10×7 ft,” model 4172: two telescoping tripod stands, a crossbar that breaks down into four pieces, clips, sandbags and a bag to carry it all. It is the kind of stand bought for birthday and baby-shower photo walls, graduation backdrops, a green screen in a spare room, or a small booth at a craft fair. The questions that matter before ordering are physical ones — how wide, how tall, how much weight, and how much floor it takes — and most of them can be answered from Linco’s published numbers. Where Linco is silent, this page says so.
Who this product is for
It fits a buyer who needs to hang a fabric, muslin, sequin or light vinyl backdrop no taller than 7 ft and no wider than 10 ft, wants to set it up and take it down repeatedly, and has room for tripod legs at each end. Compared with Linco’s 4171 kit, this one adds two sandbags, two more clips (six instead of four) and 6 inches of height.
It does not fit a buyer who needs to support a heavy printed banner, a dense balloon garland or anything approaching the stated 10 lb figure; needs a backdrop to hang clear of the floor above 7 ft; needs an exact in-between width such as 6 ft; or needs a published load rating and warranty term before buying. A heavy-duty frame, or Linco’s taller kits, are different products.
We report what the product does and where it falls short. Which of those trade-offs matter is your call.
Tracked on Amazon at $28.49–$33.99 during 2026 — check the listing for today’s price
Amazon prices for this kit move often; the range above comes from third-party sales trackers, not a live read. For reference, Linco’s own store listed the same kit at $39.99 (list $47.99) on 15 September 2026. We earn a commission on qualifying purchases at no extra cost to you, and it does not affect what we report.
Documented strengths
- Covers a wide range of sizes with one kit: 2.85 ft to 7 ft high, and about 2.58, 5, 7.5 or 10 ft wide depending on how many crossbar sections are used.
- Kit contents: two stands, a four-section crossbar, six anti-slip spring clips, two counterweight bags with steel rings and a carry bag.
- The sandbags are included. Linco’s cheaper 4171 kit ships without them, and they are what keep a tripod stand planted on uneven ground or when people brush past.
- Three-section stands with single-action locks.
- Breaks down to a package about 32 × 6 × 3 in, with a carry bag of Oxford cloth with a water-resistant coating.
- Listed at about 4.5 lb, roughly 6 to 6.5 lb as shipped.
Documented drawbacks
- Linco’s own page for this kit gives no load rating. The only figure attached to it is a 10 lb maximum on a reseller listing, and Linco rates the stands in its sister 4171 kit (a different model, the 6616) at 10 lb each. A third-party roundup gives 8 lb. Nothing published supports a figure above 10 lb.
- Width comes in steps, not continuously. You cannot set it to exactly 6 ft or 8 ft; a backdrop between the steps will either be wider than the bar or hang with slack.
- 7 ft maximum height. An 8 ft backdrop will not hang clear of the floor; the extra foot pools at the base.
- The tripod legs spread out beyond each end of the crossbar, and Linco does not publish how far. A third-party roundup measured roughly 25 in per side. Plan for floor space wider than the backdrop, and for legs in the walkway at a busy event.
- A third-party roundup reports the stand feels floppy at full extension and measured about 2 in of bar sag with a 7 lb muslin. We could not confirm this against a second independent source.
- No published tube diameter, leg spread or warranty term for this kit. The only return terms we found are a 30-day return offer on Linco’s store.
- The Amazon title also mentions “4174,” which appears in none of Linco’s own listings. Linco’s store and eBay listings identify this kit as 4172 (or 4172-F).
What it is
Five things arrive in the bag. Two LINCO 6617 backdrop support stands form the uprights: each is a three-section telescoping pole on a three-leg base, locked with single-action locks. They extend from 2.85 ft (87 cm) to 7 ft (210 cm). Across the top sits the LINCO 4222 crossbar, which comes in four sections of 2.58 ft (78 cm) each. Linco lists the widths as 2.58, 5, 7.5 or 10 ft (300 cm), depending on how many sections you join.
The rest are accessories: six LINCO OA4295 anti-slip spring clips to hold the fabric to the bar, two counterweight bags with steel rings that hang on the stands, and a carry bag. An eBay store trading as Linco Studio Lighting Technology lists the material as SPCC steel, a common cold-rolled steel. Linco’s own store page does not state a material.
How it performs
Most of what decides whether this kit works for you is weight and span. A light fabric backdrop spread across 7.5 ft puts little load on the bar. A heavy vinyl print or a garland stretched the full 10 ft asks much more of two light stands and a four-piece bar. Linco’s only published load figure in this kit family is 10 lb per stand, for the 6616 stands in the 4171 kit; this kit uses the 6617. Balloon garlands, weighted vinyl banners and doubled sequin panels can pass that figure. Weigh what you plan to hang before you hang it.
Stability is what the sandbags are for: a filled counterweight bag hung on each stand adds weight low on the base. Linco’s contents line reads “counterweight bag with steel ring” and does not say whether the bags ship filled; the 6–6.5 lb shipping weight suggests they are empty, so be ready to fill them with sand or gravel on site.
What we could and could not verify about owner experience
The Amazon listing carries a large rating base — about 4.5 stars from more than 1,000 ratings in 2026. The review text itself was not available to us for this write-up, and the one Walmart rating carries no comment. The only published hands-on commentary we found is a third-party roundup. It praises the included sandbags and the carry bag. It also reports flex at full extension, about 2 in of bar sag with a 7 lb muslin, legs reaching roughly 25 in per side, and an 8 lb load capacity. The same roundup describes the crossbar steps as 2.5 ft in one place and 3 ft in another, while Linco gives 2.58 ft, so weigh its observations accordingly.
Specifications
| Brand / model | LINCO (Linco Inc.) Backdrop Stand for Parties Kit, model 4172 / 4172-F (ASIN B0CBC1KJVZ, 10×7 ft) |
|---|---|
| Height | 2.85 ft (87 cm) to 7 ft (210 cm), continuously adjustable |
| Width | Up to 10 ft (300 cm); 4 crossbar sections of 2.58 ft (78 cm) each — about 2.58 / 5 / 7.5 / 10 ft |
| Stands | 2 × LINCO 6617, three-section, three-leg base, single-action locks |
| Crossbar | 1 × LINCO 4222, 10 ft, four sections |
| Load | Not stated on Linco’s page for this kit. A reseller listing gives 10 lb maximum; a third-party roundup gives 8 lb; Linco rates the 6616 stands in its 4171 kit at 10 lb each |
| Clips | 6 × LINCO OA4295 anti-slip spring clips, up to 1.6 in opening |
| Counterweights | 2 × counterweight bags with steel ring (fill on site) |
| Carry bag | Included; Oxford cloth with water-resistant coating |
| Material | SPCC steel, per an eBay store trading as Linco Studio Lighting Technology; not stated on Linco’s own site |
| Weight | About 4.5 lb listed; 6.1–6.54 lb shipping weight across retailers |
| Packed size | About 32 × 6 × 3 in |
| Leg spread, tube diameter, warranty | Not published by Linco (a third-party roundup measured legs at roughly 25 in per side) |
| Price reference | Amazon tracked at $28.49–$33.99 in 2026; Linco store $39.99 (list $47.99) and Walmart $42.99, checked 15 September 2026 |
How it compares
| LINCO 4172 (this kit) | LINCO 4171 | |
|---|---|---|
| Max height | 7 ft (210 cm) | 6.5 ft (200 cm) |
| Min height | 2.85 ft (87 cm) | 2.7 ft (82 cm) |
| Max width | 10 ft, 4222 crossbar | 10 ft, 4222 crossbar |
| Stands | 2 × 6617 | 2 × 6616 |
| Clips | 6 | 4 |
| Carry bag | Included | Included |
| Sandbags | 2 included | Not listed |
| Published load | Not stated by Linco | 10 lb per stand (Linco) |
| Linco store price | $39.99 | $35.99 |
Both kits from Linco’s own store pages, read 15 September 2026. Walmart also sells 6.5 × 10 ft and 9 × 10 ft versions of this listing.
The trade-offs to weigh
- Portability against rigidity. A kit that weighs about 4.5 lb and packs into a 32-inch bag is easy to carry and store. The flip side is that two light stands and a four-piece bar will flex more over 10 ft than a heavier frame.
- Size range against exact fit. One kit covers a tabletop backdrop and a 10 ft party wall. It does so in 2.5 ft width steps, so measure your backdrop against 5, 7.5 and 10 ft.
- Price against published assurance. At $28–$48 depending on the seller, Linco does not publish the load rating, leg spread or warranty term that a buyer with a heavy or high-stakes setup would want in writing.
Questions buyers ask
Will it hold an 8 ft tall backdrop?
It will hold it up, but not clear of the floor. The stands top out at 7 ft (210 cm), so an 8 ft drop leaves about a foot of fabric on the ground. Many party setups let the fabric pool on purpose. If you need a clean hem at floor level, you need a stand that goes higher.
Can I set it to 8 ft wide?
Not exactly. The crossbar is four 2.58 ft (78 cm) sections, and Linco lists the widths as about 2.58, 5, 7.5 and 10 ft. An 8 ft backdrop will sit on the 10 ft bar with some bar showing at each end, or can be gathered with the clips.
How much weight can it hold?
Linco’s store page for this kit does not say. A reseller listing for this kit states a 10 lb maximum. Linco rates the 6616 stands in its sister 4171 kit at 10 lb each; this kit uses the 6617 stand. A third-party roundup gives 8 lb. Heavy vinyl banners and dense balloon garlands can pass that figure, so weigh the backdrop first.
Are the sandbags filled?
Linco does not say. The kit lists “counterweight bag with steel ring,” and the 6–6.5 lb shipping weight suggests the bags arrive empty. Be ready to fill them with sand or gravel where you set up.
How much floor space does it take?
At least the width of the crossbar, plus the tripod legs splaying out at each end. Linco does not publish the leg spread; one third-party roundup measured roughly 25 in per side. Measure the space with the stands opened before an event, especially where guests will walk.
What is the “4174” in the Amazon title?
We could not find out. Linco’s own store and its eBay listings identify this kit only as 4172 or 4172-F. If a specific component matters to you, compare the contents list on the listing with what arrives.
Check the listing for today’s price and size options
Prices change; the figures on this page were gathered on 15 September 2026.
Where these numbers came from
- Linco’s own store pages for kit 4172 and kit 4171, and its background-supports collection, read 15 September 2026: heights, widths, crossbar section length, contents, stand models, the 4171 stand load rating, the 30-day return offer, and prices.
- eBay listings, including a store trading as Linco Studio Lighting Technology: model 4172-F, SPCC steel, and a 6.1 lb shipping weight with a 31.7 × 6.1 × 2.45 in package.
- Walmart’s listing for kit 4172: specifications, shipping weight, package size, size variants and price.
- PartyBurst’s listing for ASIN B0CBC1KJVZ: 10 lb maximum load, 1.6 in clip opening, carry-bag material and 4.5 lb item weight.
- ASINsight sales-tracking reports for the Amazon listing (2026): the Amazon price range, star average and rating count.
- A third-party backdrop-stand roundup at dognotebook.com: the 8 lb load figure and the flex, sag and leg-spread observations, all attributed to it above.
We could not read the Amazon listing or its customer reviews directly for this write-up. Where sources disagree — item weight, and the load figure — each figure is shown with its source rather than one being silently chosen.